Written by Minister of Information JR    Saturday, 12 January 2013 22:55    PDF Print E-mail
Young Lady Killer: an interview wit’ Black Belt Tamia Hooker

At the tender age of 15 years old, Tamia Hooker is not in the streets chasing boys, she is at the Delta One Martial Arts studio throwing punches, and kicks, while sparring. In a relatively short amount of time, she has achieved Black Belt status in Kajukenbo. Now she is aimed at becoming a teenage martial arts teacher in Antioch. Check out this rising martial arts star in her own words...

M.O.I. JR:  What Martial arts do you practice?  When did you become interested in martial arts?

Tamia: The martial arts I practice is called Kajukenbo. It’s a hybrid martial art that combines western boxing, Judo, Jujutsu, and Kung Fu. Ive always thought martial arts was interesting, but as a small child around the age of three I started practicing. When I turned 13 thats when I really started to take it serious.

M.O.I. JR: When did you decide you wanted to be a black belt?

Tamia: I didn’t have to decide, it was something for me that was automatic.  I’ve always admired my instructor, and how he teaches our classes.  I knew I wanted to be just like him, an instructor and a roll model.  Now that I’m a black belt I’m being trained to teach the younger classes ages 5-9.

M.O.I. JR: How long did it take you and how much was work was it? How much do you train every week?

Tamia: It took one year to prepare for my black belt. It was really hard work and it took a lot of dedication. I trained four days a week with a total of about 12 hours per week.  My weekends were spent running several miles and tons of boot camp training.

M.O.I. JR: Now that you’re a black belt, what do you want to do next with martial arts?